Setmore alternative

The Setmore alternative with South African payments and WhatsApp reminders

Setmore's own pages name Stripe, Square, PayPal, and LawPay, and describe email and SMS reminders only. Booklink's Pro plan adds Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, iKhokha, and WhatsApp reminders, priced flat at R79/month.

Booklink is a strong Setmore alternative in South Africa for providers who need local payments and WhatsApp reminders. Setmore's free plan is genuinely generous: up to 4 users and unlimited appointments at $0/month. Where it falls short for South African businesses is payments and reminders: its pricing page names Stripe, Square, PayPal, and LawPay, with no South African gateway among them, and its features page describes email confirmations and SMS reminders only, with no mention of WhatsApp. Booklink's Free plan covers 1 team member and 30 bookings a month, and the R79/month Pro plan adds Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, and iKhokha payments plus automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Booklink vs Setmore at a glance

Feature Booklink Setmore
Monthly priceR0 or R79/mo$0, or from $12/user/mo (about R194)
Free plan✓ 30 bookings/mo, 1 team member✓ Up to 4 users, unlimited bookings
Commission or per-booking feesNoneNone
South African payment gateways✓ Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, iKhokha✗ Stripe, Square, PayPal, LawPay only
WhatsApp remindersNot stated (email + SMS)
Marketplace listing✗ Not stated / no marketplace found
Team membersUp to 5 (Pro)4 free, unlimited paid (per user)
RoomsNot stated
Classes✓ Class Booking
PackagesNot stated

Why service providers switch from Setmore

South African payment gateways

Setmore's pricing page names Stripe, Square, PayPal, and LawPay. None are South African. Booklink's Pro plan collects deposits and full payments through Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha.

WhatsApp reminders

Setmore's features page describes email and SMS reminders only. Booklink sends automatic WhatsApp reminders on the Pro plan, which South African clients are far more likely to see than an SMS or email.

A flat price, not per user

Setmore's Pro plan is billed per user, so a 5-person team pays 5 times the per-seat rate. Booklink's Pro plan is a flat R79/month for up to 5 team members.

Rand pricing, no FX risk

Setmore bills in US dollars per user, so your cost moves with the exchange rate as your team grows. Booklink's Pro plan is fixed in rand.

Rooms and packages included

Booklink's Pro plan includes rooms and session packages alongside classes. Setmore's own pages name Class Booking but do not mention rooms or packages as features.

Built for South Africa

Booklink is built around the payment gateways and messaging habits of South African service providers and their clients, rather than a global feature set with local gaps.

Actual rand cost per month

Setmore bills in US dollars per user. Below is the cost for a 5-person team (matching Booklink Pro's 5-team-member cap), using the mid-market rate of about R16.14 per USD (xe.com, 2 September 2026).

Tier Booklink Setmore (5 users)
Free tier availableYes, R0 · 30 bookings/moYes, $0 · up to 4 users
Entry paid plan (5 users)R79/mo flat$60/mo ≈ R969/mo (or $25/mo ≈ R404/mo billed annually)
Annual cost (5 users)R948$720/yr ≈ R11,622 (or $300/yr ≈ R4,843 billed annually)
Pricing modelFlat, regardless of team size up to 5Per user, scales with team size
FX riskNone, billed in ZARRand weakens → price rises

Setmore pricing from setmore.com/pricing, checked 2 September 2026. Rand figures are estimates at the mid-market USD/ZAR rate on that date and will move with the exchange rate; Booklink bills a fixed R79/month in rand for up to 5 team members.

When NOT to choose Booklink

Setmore has real strengths of its own. Here is where it beats Booklink.

You need more than 1 free team member

Setmore's free plan allows up to 4 users at $0/month. Booklink's Free plan is limited to 1 team member. If you run a small team and want to stay on a free plan for as long as possible, Setmore's free tier is more generous on headcount.

You already use Square, Stripe, or LawPay

If your business already runs its payments through Square, Stripe, or LawPay (common for US-facing or legal/professional services), Setmore's native support for those processors may be a better fit than switching to a South African gateway.

You need unlimited bookings on a free plan

Setmore's free plan allows unlimited appointments. Booklink's Free plan is capped at 30 bookings a month; a busier free-tier business will hit that cap and need to upgrade to Pro.

Frequently asked questions

How is Booklink different from Setmore?

Setmore's free plan is generous (up to 4 users, unlimited appointments), but its pricing and features pages name Stripe, Square, PayPal, and LawPay as payment processors, with no South African gateway among them, and describe only email and SMS reminders, no WhatsApp. Booklink's Pro plan at a flat R79/month adds Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, and iKhokha payments and WhatsApp reminders.

Is Setmore's free plan better than Booklink's?

Setmore's free plan allows up to 4 users with unlimited appointments, which is more generous than Booklink's Free plan (1 team member, 30 bookings a month). If you need more than one free team member and do not need South African payment gateways or WhatsApp reminders, Setmore's free tier may suit you better.

Can I take South African payments with Setmore?

Setmore's pricing page names Stripe, Square, PayPal, and LawPay. None of Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha appear on its pricing page. Booklink's Pro plan collects deposits and full payments through all four South African gateways.

Does Setmore send WhatsApp reminders?

Setmore's features page describes email confirmations and SMS reminders only; WhatsApp is not mentioned on any page we checked. Booklink's Pro plan sends automatic WhatsApp reminders, which land where South African clients are already reading their messages.

Can I migrate from Setmore to Booklink?

Yes. Set up your services, team members, and availability in Booklink (about 5 minutes), then share your new booking link on WhatsApp, Instagram, or your website. Setmore does not export directly into Booklink, so re-adding services and staff is a manual step for most solo providers and small teams.

Competitor facts on this page were checked on 2 September 2026 against the sources below. Prices and features change; tell us at [email protected] if something is out of date.

Related comparisons & guides

Ready to try a simpler alternative?

Start for free. No commissions, no credit card required.

Get started for free

Last reviewed: . Reviewed by Nico Huysamen, Founder & Director, Tora Technologies. Cape Town, South Africa.