Square Appointments alternative

The Square Appointments alternative that works in South Africa

Square's support centre lists 8 countries for card payments, and South Africa is not one of them. Booklink takes deposits through Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha, sends WhatsApp reminders, and costs a flat R79/month.

Booklink is a practical Square Appointments alternative in South Africa because Square's payments do not operate here. Square Appointments is a capable product inside a large point-of-sale ecosystem, priced per location at $0 (Free), $49 (Plus), or $149 (Premium) a month, with unlimited staff calendars on every tier. But Square's support centre says card acceptance is available only in the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, the United Kingdom, the Republic of Ireland, France, and Spain, and that you must be located in the country where you activated your account. For a South African salon, therapist, or trainer, that rules out Square prepayments and no-show fees. Booklink's Free plan covers 1 team member and 30 bookings a month, and the R79/month Pro plan adds deposits or full payment through your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account, plus automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Booklink vs Square Appointments at a glance

Feature Booklink Square Appointments
Monthly priceR0 or R79/mo$0, $49, or $149 per location/mo
Available to South African businesses✓ Built in South Africa✗ Card payments in 8 other countries only
Free plan✓ 30 bookings/mo, 1 team member✓ Free tier, unlimited staff calendars
South African payment gateways✓ Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, iKhokha✗ Square payments only
Deposits or prepayment✓ Per service (Pro)Plus and Premium tiers, via Square
Online card processing feeYour gateway's own rate3.3% + 30¢ (Free), 2.9% + 30¢ (Plus, Premium)
WhatsApp reminders✓Not stated (text + email)
Commission or per-booking feesNoneNot stated
Team membersUp to 5 (Pro)✓ Unlimited staff calendars
Rooms and resources✓Premium tier
Classes✓✓ Group classes
POS, retail, and hardware✗✓

Why South African providers choose Booklink over Square

It works where you are

Square's support centre lists the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, the UK, Ireland, France, and Spain for card payments. Booklink is built and operated in Cape Town for South African businesses.

Deposits through local gateways

Square prepayments run on Square payments. Booklink's Pro plan connects your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account, so deposits or full payments go through a gateway you can sign up for here.

WhatsApp reminders

Square describes text and email reminders. Booklink sends automatic WhatsApp reminders on the Pro plan, where South African clients already read their messages.

Rand pricing, no FX risk

Square's paid tiers are priced in US dollars per location. Booklink's Pro plan is a fixed R79/month in rand for up to 5 team members.

Rooms without a premium tier

Square puts resource management on its Premium tier. Booklink includes rooms on every plan, Free and Pro, so two bookings never claim the same treatment room or chair.

Focused on bookings

Square bundles appointments with POS, banking, payroll, and marketing. Booklink does bookings, payments, calendar sync, and reminders, which is what most service providers need day to day.

What the plans cost in rand

Square prices its paid tiers in US dollars per location. Below are those prices at the mid-market rate of about R16.30 per USD (xe.com, 26 September 2026), for comparison only, since Square's payments are not offered in South Africa.

Tier Booklink Square Appointments (1 location)
Free tier availableYes, R0 · 30 bookings/moYes, $0 · no prepayments or no-show fees
Entry plan with depositsR79/mo flatPlus, $49/mo, about R799/mo
Annual cost of that planR948$588/yr, about R9,586
Top tierR79/mo (Pro is the top tier)Premium, $149/mo, about R2,429/mo
FX riskNone, billed in ZARPriced in USD

Square pricing from squareup.com/us/en/appointments/pricing, checked on 26 September 2026. Rand figures are estimates at the mid-market USD/ZAR rate on that date and will move with the exchange rate; Booklink bills a fixed R79/month in rand for up to 5 team members.

When NOT to choose Booklink

Square is a strong product in the countries it serves. Here is where it beats Booklink.

Your business operates in a Square country

If you trade in the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, the UK, Ireland, France, or Spain, Square gives you appointments and card payments from one provider, which Booklink cannot match outside South Africa.

You want POS, retail, and hardware in one system

Square covers in-person payments, retail sales, gift cards, payroll, and banking alongside appointments. Booklink focuses on service bookings and online payments, not till functionality.

You have a large team on a free plan

Square's Free tier includes unlimited staff calendars. Booklink's Free plan covers 1 team member, and Pro covers up to 5 (contact us for more).

Frequently asked questions

Can I use Square Appointments in South Africa?

Square's own support centre says card payment acceptance is available in the US, Canada, Australia, Japan, the United Kingdom, the Republic of Ireland, France, and Spain, and that you must be located in the country where you activated your account to process card payments. South Africa is not on that list, so a South African business cannot take deposits or prepayments through Square. Booklink's Pro plan takes payments through Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha instead.

How is Booklink different from Square Appointments?

Square Appointments is part of a much bigger point-of-sale and payments ecosystem, priced per location in US dollars ($0, $49, or $149 a month) and tied to Square payments. Booklink is a focused booking tool for South African service providers: a flat R79/month Pro plan in rand, your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account at checkout, deposits per service, and automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Does Square Appointments send WhatsApp reminders?

Square's pricing page describes automatic text and email reminder notifications. WhatsApp is not mentioned on the pages we checked. Booklink's Pro plan sends automatic WhatsApp reminders, alongside up to 3 configurable email reminders.

Is Square Appointments free?

Square lists a Free tier at $0 per location per month, with unlimited staff calendars, an online booking site, and appointment reminders. Prepayments, cancellation policies, and no-show fees sit on the Plus tier ($49 per location per month) and above. Booklink's Free plan covers 1 team member and 30 bookings a month; deposits and payments are on the R79/month Pro plan.

Where is Square Appointments stronger than Booklink?

Square is stronger if you run a business in one of its supported countries and want one system for appointments, in-person card payments, retail, hardware, payroll, and marketing. Its Free tier also has no staff calendar limit, and its Premium tier adds resource management for rooms and chairs. Booklink is simpler on purpose, and built for South Africa.

Can I move from Square Appointments to Booklink?

Yes. Set up your services, team members, and availability in Booklink (about 5 minutes), connect your South African payment gateway, then share your new booking link on WhatsApp, Instagram, or your website. There is no direct import from Square, so re-adding services and staff is a manual step.

Competitor facts on this page were checked on 26 September 2026 against the sources below. Prices and features change; tell us at [email protected] if something is out of date.

Related comparisons & guides

Ready to try a simpler alternative?

Start for free. No commissions, no credit card required.

Get started for free

Last reviewed: . Reviewed by Nico Huysamen, Founder & Director, Tora Technologies. Cape Town, South Africa.