Timely alternative

The Timely alternative that takes payments in South Africa

Timely's own pricing page says its payments work in Australia, New Zealand, the USA, the UK, and most of the EU. Booklink takes deposits through Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha, sends WhatsApp reminders, and costs a flat R79/month.

Booklink is a strong Timely alternative in South Africa for providers who want to take deposits online. Timely is well-regarded salon software for hair and beauty professionals, and it does serve South African businesses: its pricing page lists South Africa among the countries with SMS campaigns. Outside its named regions it prices in US dollars per staff member, from $26 a month for one staff member on Build, with a 14-day free trial and no free plan. The catch is payments: Timely says they are only available in Australia, New Zealand, the USA, the UK, and most of the European Union. Booklink's Free plan covers 1 team member and 30 bookings a month, and the R79/month Pro plan adds deposits or full payment through your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account, plus automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Booklink vs Timely at a glance

Feature Booklink Timely
Monthly priceR0 or R79/mo$26, $39, or $47 for 1 staff member, plus per extra staff
Free plan✓ 30 bookings/mo, 1 team member✗ 14-day free trial
Available in South Africa✓ Built in South Africa✓ Scheduling and SMS, not payments
Online payments in South Africa✓ Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, iKhokha✗ AU, NZ, US, UK, and EU only
Deposits✓ Per service (Pro)✗ Not in SA (no payments)
WhatsApp reminders✓Not stated (SMS + email)
Included messagingWhatsApp reminders on Pro (fair use)✓ 100 to 350 per staff member/mo, by plan
Commission or per-booking feesNoneNot stated
Marketplace listing✗✗ Not stated / no marketplace found
Team membersUp to 5 (Pro), flat pricePer staff member; fixed price from 8 staff on Elevate and Innovate
Multi-industry✓ Any serviceHair and beauty focus

Why South African providers switch from Timely

Take deposits online

Timely's payments are not offered in South Africa. Booklink's Pro plan collects a deposit or full payment at booking through your own Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha account.

WhatsApp reminders

Timely includes SMS and email reminders. Booklink sends automatic WhatsApp reminders on the Pro plan, where South African clients already read their messages.

A flat price, not per staff member

Timely charges for each staff member, part-time included. Booklink's Pro plan is a flat R79/month for up to 5 team members.

Rand pricing, no FX risk

Outside its named regions, Timely prices in US dollars, so your cost moves with the exchange rate. Booklink bills a fixed amount in rand.

A free plan to start

Timely offers a 14-day trial. Booklink's Free plan stays free for a solo provider with up to 30 bookings a month.

Not just salons

Timely's plans are written for hair and beauty professionals. Booklink also suits trainers, tutors, photographers, consultants, and other service businesses.

Actual rand cost per month

Timely lists US dollar prices for regions outside its named markets. Below is its entry Build plan for a 5-person team (matching Booklink Pro's 5-team-member cap), at the mid-market rate of about R16.30 per USD (xe.com, 26 September 2026).

Tier Booklink Timely Build
Free tier availableYes, R0 ยท 30 bookings/moNo, 14-day free trial
Solo providerR79/mo flat$26/mo, about R424/mo
5-person teamR79/mo flat$122/mo, about R1,989/mo
Annual cost (5 people)R948$1,464/yr, about R23,867
FX riskNone, billed in ZARPriced in USD

Timely pricing from gettimely.com/pricing (rest-of-world US dollar pricing), checked on 26 September 2026: Build is $26 for the first staff member and $24 for each additional staff member. Rand figures are estimates at the mid-market USD/ZAR rate on that date and will move with the exchange rate.

When NOT to choose Booklink

Timely has real strengths of its own. Here is where it beats Booklink.

You want SMS reminders and SMS marketing

Timely includes an SMS allowance per staff member that grows with its plans, and lists South Africa among the countries with SMS campaigns. Booklink focuses on WhatsApp reminders rather than SMS marketing.

You run a large salon team

From 8 staff, Timely's Elevate and Innovate plans move to a fixed monthly price. Booklink Pro covers up to 5 team members (contact us for more).

You do not need online payments

If you take payment in the salon and only need scheduling and reminders, the lack of Timely payments in South Africa matters less, and its deeper salon tooling may suit you.

Frequently asked questions

Can I use Timely in South Africa?

Yes, for scheduling. Timely's pricing page says SMS is included in all countries except the UAE, Ghana, Saudi Arabia, and Qatar, and lists South Africa among the countries where SMS campaigns are available. But it also says Timely's payments are only available in Australia, New Zealand, the USA, the UK, and most of the European Union, so a South African business cannot take payments through Timely. Booklink's Pro plan takes deposits through Yoco, Paystack, PayFast, or iKhokha.

How is Booklink different from Timely?

Timely is salon software for hair and beauty professionals, billed per staff member in US dollars outside its named regions: Build is $26 a month for one staff member plus $24 for each extra. Booklink is built for any South African service provider: a flat R79/month Pro plan for up to 5 team members, local payment gateways at checkout, and automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Does Timely send WhatsApp reminders?

Timely's pricing page describes included SMS (for example, 100 per staff member a month on Build) and email reminders. WhatsApp is not mentioned on the pages we checked. Booklink's Pro plan sends automatic WhatsApp reminders.

Does Timely have a free plan?

No. Timely offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required, then paid plans billed month to month. Booklink's Free plan stays free for 1 team member and 30 bookings a month.

Where is Timely stronger than Booklink?

Timely goes deeper on salon operations, with more plan tiers, included SMS allowances that grow with your team, and SMS marketing campaigns that its pricing page says are available in South Africa. It suits larger salon teams: from 8 staff, its Elevate and Innovate plans switch to a fixed monthly price. Booklink Pro covers up to 5 team members.

Can I move from Timely to Booklink?

Yes. Set up your services, team members, and availability in Booklink (about 5 minutes), connect your South African payment gateway, then share your booking link on WhatsApp, Instagram, or your website. There is no direct import from Timely, so re-adding services and staff is a manual step.

Competitor facts on this page were checked on 26 September 2026 against the sources below. Prices and features change; tell us at [email protected] if something is out of date.

Related comparisons & guides

Ready to try a simpler alternative?

Start for free. No commissions, no credit card required.

Get started for free

Last reviewed: . Reviewed by Nico Huysamen, Founder & Director, Tora Technologies. Cape Town, South Africa.